The ants go marching one by one…

We have been completely taken over by ants.  Well, not completely, but I have seriously had enough!  Aaahhhh.

Well what this post is actually about is our unreasonable kitchen cabinets.  I took the cabinet doors down the first week we moved in.  We will have lived in this house 1 year on August 1, just for reference.  The cabinets were white and they were dirty.  I remember thinking to myself, “Ah, I will slap a coat of paint on these cabinets to freshen them up!  A fresh coat of white will do them some good!”  HA!  What a laugh!

So I did just that, I slapped a coat of plain old white paint on them and they promptly turned pee-stain yellow.  Why, you might ask?  I have no flipping clue!

So we put two coats of primer (notice this conversation has changed from “I” to “we” – this is where William got involved b/c too many tears were being shed) and two coats of paint.  Seemed to be working great.  No pee stains around here, no sir!

THEN, we got our new counter tops and they are SO beautiful – EXCEPT they look completely terrible with the white!  And so, the cabinets are now black.

But WAIT!  The story doesn’t end there!  Oh no!  Yesterday, we are finally finished, we are ready to hang the cabinets doors.  And so we begin, and we notice something strange.  “Wait just a minute,” we say, “there are three doors missing.”  And guess where they are!  In the garage behind a shelf – STILL WHITE! I seriously was this close <> to committing an act of extreme violence.  And it gets even better – We are short 6 hinges!  Yep, all those hinges I bought so long ago, some of them are missing.  Coincidentally the exact number are missing that doors are white, but I have no explanation for that.  So, without further adieu – I give you only a small preview of our cabinets, with about 17 coats of paint on them at this point.

And no, we are not putting hardware on them, b/c I am seriously done working on these.

And this is me – feeling defeated by inanimate objects.

Leave a Reply

