Give Us This Day

 

Some people say that the thing that distinguishes homo sapiens from other primates is the ability to problem solve and use higher order thinking skills (some people=people who would know=scientists).  The genus name, after all, is Latin for “wise man”.

Side note: Perhaps we should require a standardized test to establish such skills and only allow certain people into the genus.  And if you happen to be sick, or depressed, or just plain hung over on the day of the test, well too bad.  You are now eternally a member of some other genus, perhaps we’ll call it homo stupidus even though you probably aren’t actually stupid. <End rant>

 

Anyhow, I would like to submit that the actual thing that distinguishes us is the ability to make bread.  How can something that is a basic staple in most diets be so damn hard to make?  Well, guess what!  I believe I have earned my place among the ranks of those who are of the greatest intelligence.  I give you, my loaf of bread!

 

 

image

 

You may argue that I am actually less than ten percent responsible for this loaf of bread considering it took me less than a half hour to prepare the ingredients and the three and a half hours for my bread machine to make it, but I don’t really care what you say.  Why don’t I care?

  • It tastes really good.
  • It’s healthier than store-bought bread.
  • It’s cheaper.
  • It makes my house smell good.
  • You don’t get any.

Out of the goodness of my heart, I am going to share the recipe, although I highly doubt your loaves will come out as good as mine.

 

Leave a Reply

