Garden Update – Sunflower Edition

Last year I noticed our neighbors had giant sunflowers in their garden, and I was very jealous.  So I planted sunflowers in our garden, and they more than doubled their sunflower planting.  Yes, the sunflower contest is on, it is SO on.

We had three beautiful sunflowers that grew.  They were giant.  One was ten feet tall.  The other two were around 7 feet.  Sadly I did not take a picture while they were at their most beautiful.  I was a little bitter because they always faced the neighbors behind us, the ones we are now engaged in a sunflower war with.  I am sure they were so amused by this.

Well the time for harvest finally came, and I truthfully had no idea what to expect….but WOW, growing your own sunflower seeds is way cool!

Now I just have to figure out how to roast them, or whatever you do to them to make them crunchy.

 

 

Leave a Reply

